Chelsea State Bank ad

2012 Primary Election: local candidates, ballot question

As Chelsea, Dexter, Lima, Lyndon, and Sylvan township voters head to the polls Tuesday for the primary election, they are reminded that unlike the general election, once you’ve voted for a candidate in a political party, who must stick to that political party, or your ballot will be rejected by the voting machines.

Polls are open from 7 a.m.-8 p.m.

Chelsea voters don’t have a City Council election, but they will be asked to choose party candidates for Senate, Congress, State representative, prosecuting attorney, sheriff, clerk/register of deeds, treasurer, water resource commissioner, county commissioner, 22nd District Circuit Court judge and precinct delegates.

Township voters will make their choices for township board positions.

Dexter Township

Supervisor: (vote for one)

Kathryn Bowring and Jim Drolett face off as Republicans.

Incumbent Supervisor Pat Kelly is the lone Democratic candidate.

Clerk: (vote for one)

Incumbent Republican Harley Rider is running unopposed.

Treasurer: (vote for one)

Libby Brushaber and Mark Wojno face off as Republican candidates.

Dana Bullen filed as a write-in candidate as a Democrat.

Trustee: (vote for four)

Incumbents Steve Feinman and Jason Maciejewski filed as Democrats and Mike Howard, John Emerick, Bill Gajewski and incumbent Carl Lesser filed as Republicans.

In addition, Anne Buchholz filed as a write-in candidate as a Democrat.

Lima Township

Supervisor: (vote for one)

Three Republican candidates are running incumbent Ken Unterbrink, Craig Maier and Bob Spink, although after the filing deadline, Spink announced he was suspending his campaign and was supporting Maier.

Clerk: (vote for one)

Incumbent Clerk Arlene Bareis, a Republican, is running unopposed.

Treasurer: (vote for one)

Incumbent Treasurer Nanette Havens, a Republican, is running unopposed.

Trustees: (vote for two)

On the ballot are Republican incumbents Don Laire and Greg McKenzie and Lawrence Risner.

Lyndon Township

Supervisor: (vote for one)

Current Republican Trustee Marc Keezer filed for the supervisor position. He is running unopposed.

Clerk: (vote for one)

Incumbent Clerk Linda Reilly, a Democrat, is running unopposed.

Treasurer: (vote for one)

Incumbent Treasurer Mary Jane Maze, a Republican, is running unopposed.

Trustee: (vote for two)

Republican Supervisor John Francis filed for a trustee position, as did incumbent Trustee Robert Mester, who is running as a Republican.

Sylvan Township

Supervisor (vote for one)

Incumbent Republican Trustee Scott Cooper filed for the supervisor’s position and is running unopposed in the primary.

Clerk: (vote for one)

Doug Smith and incumbent LuAnn Koch will face off as Republicans for the position.

Treasurer: (vote for one)

Rod Branham and incumbent Arlene Grau will face off as Republicans for the seat.

Trustee: (vote for two)

Kurt Koseck, incumbent Reuben Lesser and Roy Schmidt are seeking election as Republicans for the two trustee seats. Sandra Egeler has filed for the trustee seat as a Democrat.

Sylvan Township voters also will have a millage ballot question on the ballot.

It reads: “Shall the limitation upon the total amount of general ad valorem taxes imposed upon real and tangible personal property for all purposes in any one year under the Michigan Constitution be increased in the Township of Sylvan, Washtenaw County, Michigan, by 4.40 mills (which is equal to $4.40 per $1,000 of taxable value of all such property) for a period of twenty (20) years, 2013 through 2032, inclusive, for the purpose of paying the Township’s $9,775,000.00 obligation to Washtenaw County and $1,213,000.00 to the Washtenaw County Treasurer? The amount of revenue the Township will collect if that millage is approved and levied by the Township in the first year is estimated to be $780,263.90. The proposed millage is a new additional millage, the revenue from which would be disbursed to the County of Washtenaw.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

1 thought on “2012 Primary Election: local candidates, ballot question”

Comments are closed.