Chelsea State Bank ad

Dexter, Lima, Lyndon and Sylvan township election results

Here are the unofficial township board election results from Tuesday’s primary election. The winners are in bold type.

Dexter Township


Jim Drolett

“I’d like to thank the voters of Dexter Township for expressing confidence in me,” said Jim Drolett, who won his Republican primary race for supervisor, 401 votes to 187 votes, defeating Kathryn Bowring.

Kathryn Bowring (R)  – 187 votes

Jim Drolett (R) – 401 votes

(I) Pat Kelly (D) – 271 votes

Drolett and Kelly will face off for the seat in November.



(I) Harley Rider (R) – 498 votes



Libby Brushaber

“I’d like thank the residents of Deter township for voting today,” said Libby Brushaber, who defeated Mark Wojno, 367 votes to 208 votes, in the Republican primary for treasurer.

Libby Brushaber (R) – 367 votes

Mark Wojno (R) – 208 votes

Dana Bullen filed as a write-in candidate as a Democrat and unofficially received enough votes to challenge Brushaber for the treasurer’s seat in November.



(I) Steve Feinman (D) – 195 votes

(I) Jason Maciejewski (D) – 207 votes

Mike Howard (R) – 363 votes

John Emerick (R) -337 votes

Bill Gajewski (R) – 342 votes

(I) Carl Lesser (R) – 426 votes

In addition, Anne Buchholz filed as a write-in candidate as a Democrat and unofficially received enough votes to be placed on the ballot in November.


Lima Township

Challenger Craig Maier won the Republican primary for supervisor with 476 votes while Incumbent Supervisor Ken Unterbrink got 79 votes and Bob Spink had 32 votes according to unofficial results.


“I would like to sincerely thank the community and my staff for their support in this election and I look forward to November’s election,” Maier said. “We’ve made it through the primary.”

This Monday, Aug. 13, Maier said he plans to “get his feet wet,” by attending a meeting concerning the future of the town hall and also to attend the board meeting that night.

“I’m excited about this,” he said, adding that the newly elected members of the board take office on Nov. 20, following the results of the general election on Nov. 6.


(I) Ken Unterbrink (R) – 79

Craig Maier (R) – 476

Bob Spink (R) – 31


(I) Arlene Bareis (R) – 471 votes


(I) Nanette Havens (R) – 453

Trustees: (vote for two)

Incumbent Republicans Don Laire and Greg McKenzie were the top two vote getters with 283 votes and 297 votes, respectively.

(I) Don Laire (R) – 283 votes

(I) Greg McKenzie (R) – 297 votes

Lawrence Risner (R) – 236 votes


Lyndon Township


Marc Keezer (R) – 150 votes


(I) Linda Reilly (D) – 116 votes


(I) Mary Jane Maze (R) – 161 votes

Trustee: (vote for two)

John Francis (R) – 146 votes

(I) Robert Mester (R) – 110 votes

Sylvan voters voted according to this rock message.

Sylvan Township

All three Republican incumbents were defeated in the primary by the candidates running as the Sylvan Clean Slate ticket, and voters also approved a 4.4 mill tax levy for 20 years by 7 votes – 480 votes to 473 votes.

In the clerk race, Doug Smith defeated Incumbent Clerk LuAnn Koch, 659 votes to 255 votes.

In the treasurer’s race, Rod Branham defeated Incumbent Treasurer Arlene Grau 647 votes to 261 votes.

“We would like to thank everyone for their votes and support,” Branham said. “Doug and I would like to thank our wives, Karen Woollams and Ann Kalmbach for their support. We could not have done this without them.”

In the trustee race, Republicans Kurt Koseck received 634 votes, Roy Schmidt received 622 votes and Incumbent Trustee Reuben Lesser got 237 votes. In addition, Democratic candidate Sandy Egeler received 90 votes.


Scott Cooper (R) – 569 votes

Cooper will face current Supervisor Bob Lange, who filed as an independent, in November.


Doug Smith (R) – 659 votes

(I) LuAnn Koch (R) -255 votes


Rod Branham (R) – 647 votes

(I) Arlene Grau (R) – 261 votes

Trustee: (vote for two)

Kurt Koseck (R) – 634 votes

(I) Reuben Lesser (R) – 237 votes

Roy Schmidt (R) – 622 votes

Sandra Egeler (D) – 90 votes

Republicans Koseck and Schmidt will face Democrat Egeler and Independent candidate Alex Slocum in the November general election. 

Sylvan Township voters also approved a 4.4 mill tax levy for 20 years, 480 votes to 473 votes.

It read: “Shall the limitation upon the total amount of general ad valorem taxes imposed upon real and tangible personal property for all purposes in any one year under the Michigan Constitution be increased in the Township of Sylvan, Washtenaw County, Michigan, by 4.40 mills (which is equal to $4.40 per $1,000 of taxable value of all such property) for a period of twenty (20) years, 2013 through 2032, inclusive, for the purpose of paying the Township’s $9,775,000.00 obligation to Washtenaw County and $1,213,000.00 to the Washtenaw County Treasurer? The amount of revenue the Township will collect if that millage is approved and levied by the Township in the first year is estimated to be $780,263.90. The proposed millage is a new additional millage, the revenue from which would be disbursed to the County of Washtenaw.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email